Care Stories from Students

My task in this post is to describe a student writing project which I find interesting. I’m doing this for a class which I am taking.

This is a student (university) writing project in which students are encouraged to write about caring for others across generations. This particular post is written by a young woman, describing the decline of her grandfather and the steps her family, especially her father, took to support him during that decline. Her writing is very descriptive and frank. I was very impressed by her openness. It made me think of the loss of my grandparents almost 50 years ago. I appreciate her sharing such a personal story.

While I don’t have a classroom in which to implement something like this, I could see it being implemented in a high school classroom. Most high school students have experienced the loss of a grandparent, other relative, friend or neighbor and could write about that loss. It is a challenge to write about loss with integrity. For many it could be the first time they have given voice to that experience. For some, it would be done with great difficulty, for some it may provide some release.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment